Balance and Blending

I’ve spent the past couple of days working with two different ICT groups- with a focus on the technology use in our classrooms. In-house (at the board level), we took some time to reflect and celebrate success of our start-up and get a clear picture of where we are at present. Being a next-steps kind of girl, it’s important to me as a technology coach to balance the representative voice of my teachers, my own personal work “in the trenches”, and to have a voice at the decision-making table.

Secondly, I am working with a small group from our school board on developing and expanding the use of blended learning in our schools. By definition, blended learning is the combination of face-to-face instruction with online learning and integration of a variety of technological tools and strategies. We have an army of people ready and eager to embark on this instructional strategy with our students.

On another note, we will be piloting use of e-texts. How do we integrate each of these models?

From a media perspective, I keep hearing two messages in my mind:

The media is the message.

and courtesy of Dr. Allan Luke…

“If you don’t have critical literacy you are a sucker!”

Fortunately for me, there is another 6 hour drive ahead to consolidate the learning before returning to my progress reports… (and my orphaned children).

Talk about a balancing act!

Leave a Reply

